Hannah

The Yarra Valley Critter Sitter

The Yarra Valley Critter Sitter

I'm on holiday

I am volunteering in South Africa until 3/10/17 so am unable to provide pet sitting services until after that date. Cheers Hannah - The Yarra Valley Critter Sitter :-)

Hannah

Mount evelyn Pawshaker since Dec 2016
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Responds: Within an hour
  • SMS verified
  • E-mail verified
  • Facebook verified

Hannah's furry clients.

Luna
River
Tai
50+ imagesview all
Tai

Hi, I'm Hannah!

Hi, my name is Hannah. I'm 30 years old and have owned, volunteered and worked with animals all my life (details below). I pride myself in providing the highest possible level of care to all the animals I work with. I currently own two cats and two horses but unfortunately lost both of my dogs to cancer this year. I am currently studying a Bachelor of Science at Melbourne University so have lots of free time on holidays and around my contact hours to provide excellent, loving care to your pets, in your home or mine!

Over the years I have worked as a zookeeper, wildlife presenter, stablehand, trackrider, farm hand, petsitter, dog groomer, animal attendant and animal management officer. I am very confident in handling and providing care to many species of animals. I have owned: Dogs, cats, horses, goats, fish, a snake, chickens, ducks, budgies, a cockatiel and axolotyls.

I have worked with: Dogs, cats, horses, ferrets, rabbits, guinea pigs, poultry, pigs, goats, sheep, cattle, deer, snakes, lizards, frogs, turtles, hyenas, monkeys, lions, servals, possums, sugar gliders, quolls, owls, invertebrates, wallabies, kangaroos and more!I have fostered numerous dogs with behavioural and health issues, and have attended dog training conferences in Australia and the USA.

I have a comfortable house which pets are more than welcome inside. I have a large dog crate for any dogs requiring containment due to medical issues or timid dogs who prefer a quiet space. Outside I have three dog runs with kennels, two of which are concreted and fully enclosed, so you know your pets are secure and safe while I'm not home. I also have an enclosed back verandah which allows dogs to have a pigs ear in the sun while I'm at home. My cats can be separated from your dogs if necessary. I prefer to provide care to cats in their own home as I feel moving locations is unnecessarily stressful for cats (and Cooper can be a little territorial!).I live on two and a half acres, giving dogs plenty of room to have a good run. While in my care dogs are walked at least once daily for at least half an hour.

I live adjacent to the Warburton Trail and Mount Evelyn Aqueduct Trail and just a short drive from Lilydale Lake and Silvan Reservoir, which all provide fantastic dog walking trails. I absolutely love taking dogs for on-leash swims at the river in Warrandyte if allowed by the owner. Dog walking as a separate service is also available at any of these locations. Walks will be for approximately one hour each.

If you would prefer me visiting your pets in your own home I am also happy to provide non-pet services - E.g. Bins, mail collection, watering gardens, lights on and off.

I understand how it feels to be away from your pets and will provide updates in whichever form you prefer (text, email etc), however often you would like. With my years of experience and my passion for pets, I can guarantee your pets will receive the highest quality care and attention. I can provide multiple references. Thankyou for taking the time to read this :-)

I would prefer to service areas within 20km of Mount Evelyn but travel in to the city for uni so please contact me to discuss if you live further away!

Specific Skills

I speak English
Familiar with dog training techniques
20+ years of experience
I can take care of exotic animals
  • I have owned and worked with many species of animals over many years, handling and providing high level care to them, as detailed in my description.
  • I have completed short courses in basic and advanced husbandry of reptiles at Victorian Reptiles in Hopper Crossing.
  • I am currently studying a Bachelor of Science (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology) at Melbourne University.

I can administer

Oral medications
First aid and CPR for pets

I have experience with

Animal welfare as a volunteer
Artboard Behavioural problems
Rescuing pets

I also offer

Pick up / drop off

Extra

Last minute bookings
Strict cancellation policy

My place

I have

A farm
A fully fenced backyard
A large outdoor area

I can provide

Emergency transport

Resident Pets

When your pet stays with me

I accept

Dogs
Puppies
Ferrets
Small animals (rodents, rabbits, birds...)

Walking areas

Countryside & bush
Nearby off-leash dog area

More home dog boarding, cat sitting and pet minding services in Mount evelyn